Members and tasks of the Board of Supervisory Directors

The Board of Supervisory Directors supervises the conduct of KfW's business and the administration of its assets. The Board of Supervisory Directors supervises the conduct of KfW's business and the administration of its assets. It approves, among other things, the annual financial statements. The Board of Supervisory Directors consists of 37 members. In the year under review, the Chair was held by the Federal Minister of Finance, and the Deputy Chair by the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy.

Peter Altmaier

Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy (since 14 March 2018)

Brigitte Zypries Federal Minister

for Economic Affairs and Energy Deputy Chair (27 January-31 December 2017) Chair

(1 January 2018-14 March 2018)

Sigmar Gabriel

Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Deputy Chair (until 27 January 2017)

Olaf Scholz

Federal Minister of Finance Deputy Chair (since 14 March 2018)

Peter Altmaier

Federal Minister of Finance Chair (24 October 2017–31 December 2017) Deputy Chair (1 January 2018-14 March 2018)

Dr Wolfgang Schäuble Federal Minister of Finance

Chair (1 January 2017-24 October 2017)

Kerstin Andrae

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (until 31 December 2017)

Dr Holger Bingmann

President of the Federation of German Wholesale, Foreign Trade and Services(BGA) Representative of trade (since 13 December 2017)

Anton F Börner

President of the Federation of German Wholesale, Foreign Trade and Services(BGA) Representative of trade (until 26 September 2017)

Volker Bouffier

Minister President of the State of Hesse Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Dr Uwe Brandl

President of the Bayerischer Gemeindetag Representative of municipalities

Hans-Dieter Brenner

Former Chief Executive Officer of Helaba Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen Representative of industrial credit (until 31 December 2017)

Frank Bsirske

Chairman of ver.di United Services Trade Union Representative of the trade unions

Alexander Dobrindt

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (until 24 October 2017)

Georg Fahrenschon

President of the German Savings Banks Association (DSGV) Representative of the savings banks (until 31 December 2017)

Robert Feiger

Chairman of the Federal Executive Committee of the IG Bauen-Agrar-Umwelt trade union (IG Bau) Representative of the trade unions

Klaus-Peter Flosbach

Former member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Sigmar Gabriel

Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs (from 27 January 2017-14 March 2018)

Christian Görke

Deputy Minister President Minister of Finance of the State of Brandenburg Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Dr Louis Hagen

Chief Executive Officer of Münchener Hypothekenbank eG Representative of the mortgage banks

Dr Matthias Haß

Saxon State Minister of Finance Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 2 March 2018)

Hubertus Heil

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 14 March 2018)

Monika Heinold

Minister of Finance of the State of Schleswig-Holstein Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Dr Barbara Hendricks

Federal Minister for the Environment. Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (until 14 March 2018)

Reinhold Hilbers

Minister of Finance of the State of Lower Saxony Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 2 February 2018)

Reiner Hoffmann

Chairman of the Confederation of German Trade Unions (DGB) Representative of the trade unions

Gerhard Hofmann

Member of the Board of Managing Directors of the National Association of German Cooperative Banks (BVR) Representative of the cooperative banks

Dr Bruno Hollnagel

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 1 March 2018)

Andreas Ibel

President of the Federal association of independent housing and real estate companies (BFW) Representative of the housing industry

Bartholomäus Kalh

Former member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Dr Markus Kerber

Director General of the Federation of German Industries (BDI) Representative of industry (until 31 March 2017)

Julia Klöckner

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture (since 14 March 2018)

Stefan Körzell

Member of the Executive Board of the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB) Representative of the trade unions

Dr Joachim Lang

Director General of the Federation of German Industries (BDI) Representative of industry (since 1 April 2017)

Lutz Lienenkämper

Minister of Finance of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 22 September 2017)

Dr Gesine Lötzsch

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (until 31 December 2017)

Heiko Maas

Federal Foreign Minister (since 14 March 2018)

Dr Gerd Müller

Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development

Dr Hans-Walter Peters

President of the Association of German Banks (BdB) Representative of the commercial banks (since 1 January 2018)

Eckhardt Rehberg

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Dr Johannes-Jörg Riegler

President of the Association of German Public Banks (VÖB) Representative of industrial credit (since 1 January 2018)

Joachim Rukwied

President of the German Farmers' Association (DBV) Representative of agriculture

Andreas Scheuer

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (since 14 March 2018)

Helmut Schleweis

President of the German Savings Banks Association (DSGV) Representative of the savings banks (since 1 January 2018)

Christian Schmidt

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture (until 14 March 2018)

Christian Schmidt

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (24 October-14 March 2018)

Andreas Schmitz

Chairman of the Management Board of HSBC Trinkaus & Burkhardt AG Representative of the commercial banks (until 31 December 2017)

Carsten Schneider

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Peter-Jürgen Schneider

Minister of Finance of the State of Lower Saxony Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (until 20 November 2017)

Svenja Schulze

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (since 14 March 2018)

Holger Schwannecke

Secretary General of the German Confederation of Skilled Crafts (ZDH) Representative of skilled crafts

Edith Sitzmann

Minister of Finance of the State of Baden-Württemberg Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Dr Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs (until 27 January 2017)

Dr Florian Toncar

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Prof. Dr Georg Unland

Saxon State Minister of Finance Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (until 28 December 2017)

Dr Norbert Walter-Borjans

Minister of Finance of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (until 8 July 2017)

Dr Martin Wansleben

Chief Executive of the Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry (DIHK) Representative of industry