Members and tasks of the Board of Supervisory Directors

The Board of Supervisory Directors supervises the conduct of KfW's business and the administration of its assets. It approves, among other things, the annual financial statements. The Board of Supervisory Directors consists of 37 members. In the year under review, the Chair was held by the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy, and the Deputy Chair by the Federal Minister of Finance.

Olaf Scholz

Federal Minister of Finance Deputy Chair (14 March 2018–31 December 2018) Chair (since 1 January 2019)

Peter Altmaier

Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Chair (14 March 2018–31 December 2018) Deputy Chair (since 1 January 2019)

Brigitte Zypries

Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Chair (1 January 2018–14 March 2018)

Peter Altmaier

Federal Minister of Finance Deputy Chair (1 January 2018–14 March 2018)

Doris Ahnen

Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 1 January 2019)

Sören Bartol

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 26 April 2018)

Dr Holger Bingmann

President of the Federation of German Wholesale, Foreign Trade and Services (BGA) Representative of trade

Volker Bouffier

Minister President of the State of Hesse Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Dr Uwe Brandl

President of the Bayerischer Gemeindetag Representative of municipalities (until 31 December 2018)

Frank Bsirske

Chair of ver.di United Services Trade Union Representative of the trade unions (until 31 December 2018)

Robert Feiger

Chair of the Federal Executive Committee of the IG Bauen-Agrar-Umwelt trade union (IG Bau) Representative of the trade unions

Klaus-Peter Flosbach

Former member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (until 31 December 2018)

Sigmar Gabriel

Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs (until 14 March 2018)

Verena Göppert

Permanent Deputy of the Executive Director of the Association of German Cities Representative of the municipalities (since 1 January 2019)

Christian Görke

Deputy Minister President Minister of Finance of the State of Brandenburg Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (until 31 December 2018)

Olav Gutting

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 1 January 2019)

Dr Louis Hagen

Chief Executive Officer of Münchener Hypothekenbank eG Representative of the mortgage banks

Dr Matthias Haß

Saxon State Minister of Finance Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (2 March 2018–31 December 2018)

Hubertus Heil

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (until 14 March 2018)

Monika Heinold

Minister of Finance of the State of Schleswig-Holstein Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (until 31 December 2018)

Dr Barbara Hendricks

Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (until 14 March 2018)

Reinhold Hilbers

Minister of Finance of the State of Lower Saxony Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 2 February 2018)

Reiner Hoffmann

Chair of the Confederation of German Trade Unions (DGB) Representative of the trade unions

Gerhard Hofmann

Member of the Board of Managing Directors of the National Association of German Cooperative Banks (BVR) Representative of the cooperative banks

Dr Bruno Hollnagel

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 1 March 2018)

Andreas Ibel

President of the Federal association of independent housing and real estate companies (BFW) Representative of the housing industry

Bartholomäus Kalb

Former member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Julia Klöckner

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture (since 14 March 2018)

Andrea Kocsis

Deputy Chair of ver.di – United Services Trade Union Representative of the trade unions (since 1 January 2019)

Stefan Körzell

Member of the Executive Board of the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB) Representative of the trade unions

Dr Joachim Lang

Director General of the Federation of German Industries (BDI) Representative of industry

Lutz Lienenkämper

Minister of Finance of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Heiko Maas

Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs (since 14 March 2018)

Dr Gerd Müller

Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development

Dr Hans-Walter Peters

President of the Association of German Banks (BdB) Representative of the commercial banks (since 1 January 2018)

Eckhardt Rehberg

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Dr Johannes-Jörg Riegler

Former President of the Association of German Public Banks (VÖB) Representative of industrial credit (since 1 January 2018)

Joachim Rukwied

President of the German Farmers' Association (DBV) Representative of agriculture

Andreas Scheuer

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (since 14 March 2018)

Helmut Schleweis

President of the German Savings Banks Association (DSGV) Representative of the savings banks (since 1 January 2018)

Christian Schmidt

Federal Minister of Food and Agriculture (until 14 March 2018)

Christian Schmidt

Federal Minister of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (until 14 March 2018)

Carsten Schneider

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag

Svenja Schulze

Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (since 14 March 2018)

Holger Schwannecke

Secretary General of the German Confederation of Skilled Crafts (ZDH) Representative of the skilled crafts

Edith Sitzmann

Minister of Finance of the State of Baden-Württemberg Member appointed by the German Bundesrat

Peter Strobel

Minister of Finance and European Affairs of the State of Saarland Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 1 January 2019)

Heike Taubert

Deputy Minister President Minister of Finance of the State of Thuringia Member appointed by the German Bundesrat (since 1 January 2019)

Dr Florian Toncar

Member of the German Bundestag Member appointed by the German Bundestag (since 1 March 2018)

Dr Martin Wansleben

Chief Executive of the Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry (DIHK) Representative of industry